Your Girlfriends Think You Deserve Better Than You Think You Do

I’d like to preface this entry by saying that I & my best friends are not the typical girly girls.  I am a tomboy through and through & 3 out of my 4 best friends I met through professional wrestling.  Yes, they & I threw down, wrestled, broke more bones to count, got thrown through flaming tables (well, mainly that was me), bled profusely & enjoyed every minute of it. In fact, one of them is in the WWE Hall of Fame.  Not girly girls for sure.  The other I met in the go go industry but she is the scariest of all.  No one & I mean NO ONE messes with her.  She just has this “don’t even think about fucking with me” presence.  It’s her gift & no one fucks with her.  We are not the type to cry & whine & say stupid shit like “why doesn’t he like me???”.

Recently I’ve learned that it’s probably a good idea to censor some of the information you provide your girlfriends with about a guy you like or are dating.  One of my best friends recently got out of a two year, long distance relationship & started blogging about some of her “ex experiences”.  We were talking about some of these happenstances & I told her that she & her ex would never had stayed together so long if she had informed me & one of our other best friends of these incidents (basically because we wouldn’t have allowed it). To which she replied “That’s why I didn’t say anything.”. I then thought about how my friends react to the things I tell them & basically, if a guy has shown one iota of douche bag behavior, they hate him.  Time to kick him to the curb.  When I passed on what I said to this friend to another best friend through text, she mistakenly assumed he had hit her & was ready to pick me up & drive through several states to go kick his ass.

When it comes to dating, everyone at one point or another is a douche bag.  For example, I wasn’t convinced that the guy from my “It’s a Work” piece was a total dick.  Did he pull a dick move?  Hell, yeah.  Not one that I can’t say that I haven’t pulled myself, although in a lesser degree.  I’d hung out with a particular guy a few times but, just wasn’t really feeling “it”.  I hemmed and hawed about just telling him outright.  It’s hard to reject someone!  I didn’t answer quite as many of his texts & became more distant & I guess he got the hint. I still feel like an asshole about it.

My friends are probably right though.  I totally gave the guy from It’s a Work a chance to redeem himself & he didn’t.  Not even an “I’m sorry”.

It’s all good though.  There’s a lid for every pot.  In the meantime, it’s nice to know I have best friends willing to kick the living shit out of some guy who treated me wrongly.

One thought on “Your Girlfriends Think You Deserve Better Than You Think You Do

  1. Pingback: The Dos And Don’ts Of Having A Relationship In Your 20s | Elite Daily | MTR The Network: Podcasting & Entertainment Network

Leave a Reply

